Thursday, May 24, 2012

Statesman and Chronilcle Writers Announce 2011-2012 'Critics' Table' Nominations

Writers for the Chronicle and the Statesman put together their annual list and released it last night.  Here are the nominations relating to Austin's live narrative theatre; the full list is available at Jeanne Claire van Ryzin's Seeing Things blog at the Statesman's website.  Robert Faires describes the process in his feature at the Austin Chronicle.


Production, Drama
“Arcadia,” Austin Shakespeare
“Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde,” UT Department of Theatre & Dance
“Housebreaking,” Poison Apple Initiative
“The Lion in Winter,” Austin Playhouse
“The Pavilion,” Penfold Theatre Company
“Riddley Walker,” Trouble Puppet Theatre Company

Production, Comedy
“The Aliens,” Hyde Park Theatre
“The Further Adventures of Hedda Gabler,” Mary Moody Northen Theatre
“Guest by Courtesy,” Salvage Vanguard Theater
“Men of Tortuga,” Street Corner Productions
“Messenger No. 4,” Cambiare Productions
“The Schooling of Bento Bonchev,” Breaking String Theater

Production, Musical
“The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee,” Soubrette Productions
“Hairspray,” Zach Theatre<.br> “I Love You Because,” Penfold Theatre Company
“Next to Normal,” Zach Theatre
“Oklahoma!,” Texas State University Department of Theatre and Dance
“[title of show],” TexARTS

Theatrical Event
“Bottled-in-Bond: The Decline and Fall of a Thug as Told in Five Drinks,” Fusebox Festival: Digestible Feats
“Jubilee,” Rubber Repertory
“The Orchid Flotilla,” Glass Half Full Productions
“Surprise Annie,” Rubber Repertory
“Sweet Betrayal,” Fusebox Festival: Digestible Feats

Bastion Carboni, “Housebreaking”
Daria Davis, “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”
Kaitlin Hopkins, “Oklahoma!”/”Hair”
Zell Miller III, “For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf”
Andrea Skola, “Men of Tortuga”
Dave Steakley, “Hairspray”/”Next to Normal”/”The Laramie Project”
Ken Webster, “The Aliens”

Acting in a Leading Role
Liz Beckham, “Arcadia”
Jill Blackwood, “The Further Adventures of Hedda Gabler”
Andrew Cannata, “I Love You Because/Dirty Rotten Scoundrels”
Jon Cook, “The Aliens”
Babs George, “Ghosts”
Jude Hickey, “The Aliens”
Eugene Lee, “The Book of Grace”/”God of Carnage”
Claire Ludwig, “A Room With a View”
Meredith McCall, “Next to Normal”
Sam Mercer, “Housebreaking”
Nadine Mozon, “The Book of Grace”
Robert Pierson,”B. Beaver Animation”
Matt Radford, “Uncle Vanya”
Caroline Reck, “The Orchid Flotilla”
Nikki Zook, “The Children’s Hour”

Acting in a Supporting Role
Kim Adams, “Ghosts”/”The Pavilion”
Brian Coughlin, “Hairspray”
Michael Dalmon, “Arcadia”
Shelby Davenport, “Arcadia”
Emily Everidge, “Uncle Vanya”
Jamie Goodwin, “Next to Normal”
Joey Hood, “The Aliens”
Jarrett King, “The Further Adventures of Hedda Gabler”
Tom Parker, “A Room With a View”
Jason Phelps, “Spring Awakening”
Kelli Schultz, “Next to Normal”
Michael Slefinger, “Big Love”
Janis Stinson, “Hairspray”
Breanna Stogner, “Down the Drain”
Rommel Sulit, “Big Love”/”Men of Tortuga”/”Bacha Bazi (Boy Play)”/”The Dragon Play”

Ensemble Performance
“69 Love Scenes,” Gnap! Theatre Productions
“Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde,” UT Dept. of Theatre & Dance
“For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf,” UpRise! Productions/Vortex Repertory Co.
“God of Carnage,” Zach Theatre
“I Love You Because”, Penfold Theatre
“Jubilee,” Rubber Repertory

David Mark Cohen New Play Award
“360 (round dance),” Steven Dietz
“Bacha Bazi (Boy Play),” Gabriel Jason Dean
“Guest by Courtesy,” Hannah Kenah
“Messenger No. 4,” Will Hollis Snider
“River City,” Diana Grisanti
“Static,” Tom Horan

Music Direction
Greg Bolin, “Oklahoma!”/”Hair,” Texas State University Dept. of Theatre and Dance
Susan Finnegan, “The Spitfire Grill”
Austin Haller, “[title of show]”
Allen Robertson, “Hairspray”/”Next to Normal”

Quetta Carpenter, “Love’s Labour's Lost”, UT Dept. of Theatre & Dance
Matt Hislope and company, “Jubilee”
Robin Lewis. “Hairspray”
Amanda Mayi Moss & Sade Jones, “For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf”
Melinda Rebman & Zenobia Taylor, “The Dudleys: A Family Game”
Tom Truss, “Hair,” Texas State University Dept. of Theatre and Dance


Scenic Design
Rowan Doyle, “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”
Ia Ensterä, “Uncle Vanya”/”Down the Drain”/”Ghosts”/”The Schooling of Bento Bonchev”/”The 21 Would-Be Lives of Phineas Hamm”/”Messenger No. 4”/”The Alien”s/”The Materiality of Impermanence”
Ann Marie Gordon, “Sarah Silver Hands”
Michael Raiford, “Hairspray”/”Spring Awakening”/”God of Carnage”
Chris H. Yoo, “360 (round dance)”

Costume Design
Yao Chen, “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”
Julia Chinnock Howze, “Uncle Vanya”
Rachel McGinnis, “The 21 Would-Be Lives of Phineas Hamm”
Austin Rausch, “The Further Adventures of Hedda Gabler”
Susan Branch Towne, “The Magic Flute”/”Hairspray”
Proletina Veltchev, “Love’s Labours Lost”

Lighting Design
Jason Amato, “Devotion”/”Hairspray”/”Sarah Silver Hands”/”Next to Normal”/”Arcadia”
Kathryn Eader, “The Further Adventures of Hedda Gabler”
Kate Leahy, “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”
Stephen Pruitt, “The Materiality of Impermanence”/”April Fools”
Steven Shirey, “Ghosts”/”The Schooling of Bento Bonchev”/”Jubilee”
Cheng-Wei Teng, “Love’s Labours Lost”

Sound Design
K. Eliot Haynes, “Riddley Walker”
Sam Kokajko, “Hairspray”
Jeffery Mills, “Civilization (All You Can Eat)”
Buzz Moran, “The Further Adventures of Hedda Gabler”/”Ghosts”
Brian Schneider, “The Pavilion”

Video Design
Jo Beira, “Too & For” (Catalyst)
David Bengali, Angela Hill, Josh Lampman, David Mauro, Dan Monceaux, Camilo Munar & Jake Witten, and Jordan Rein, “The Dudleys: A Family Game”
Scott Hathaway, “Devotion”
Jeff Kurihara, “Broken Pieces”/”Just for the Night” (New York Stories)
Todd V. Wolfson, “The Materiality of Impermanence”

No comments:

Post a Comment