Sunday, April 19, 2009

UT's Emeritus professor Oscar G. Brockett Recognized for Lifetime Achievement


Professor Emeritus Dr. Oscar G. Brockett has received the USITT Award from the US Institute for Theatre Technology. The USITT Award is the highest honor given by the institute and recognizes a lifetime contribution to the performing arts community. Notable past recipients of this award include Julie Taymor, Robert Brustein, Phillip Glass, Ming Cho Lee, and Harold Prince. Presented annually since 1967, this year's award was presented at the USITT Annual Conference held March 18–21 in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Dr. Brockett began teaching in university theatre programs in 1949 and is considered by many to be the world's foremost theatre historian. His book, History of the Theatre, is the top-ranked and highest-selling theatre history text of the 20th century. His most recent literary contribution, A History of Scenic Design and Technology, has been completed with publication projected for 2010.

Upon arriving at The University of Texas at Austin in 1978, Dr. Brockett served as Dean of the College of Fine Arts before stepping down in 1980 to head the Ph.D. in Theatre History program in the Department of Theatre and Dance until his retirement in 2006. A recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and Fulbright Award, Dr. Brockett is a Fellow of the American Theatre at the Kennedy Center and has been awarded multiple Career Achievement Awards from groups like the Association for Theatre in Higher Education and the Texas Educational Theatre Association.

No comments:

Post a Comment